Contribute to SRA Online

The Society for Research on Adolescence (SRA) welcomes scholarly articles/blogs related to adolescence based on the criteria described below. Content must be consistent with our mission statement and must be submitted by a member of SRA, an officer of a fellow organization, or an author whose work has recently appeared in the Journal of Research on Adolescence. We welcome the following content:

Articles/Blogs: The SRA website accepts submissions in the areas listed below. Submissions should be approximately 500-750 words, and may be written in an expert or research voice. Submissions are always welcome. SRA Online should not be considered a site of first publication for empirical research or reviews.

Contributors should specify the website section where they intend their article to be published:

  • Research Summaries: Lay language summaries of a specific journal article (in press or published) or a summary of a body of work. These articles may focus on a specific theory/approach, explain a particular methodology, or review findings.
  • Applying Findings: Discussion of the implications of a study (or series of studies) that specifically address how website visitors might use these findings in their own professional or personal interactions with adolescents.
  • Teaching Adolescence: Articles describing an exercise, activity, or assignment that might be used when teaching the topic of adolescence/adolescent development. This content is primarily geared for undergraduate and graduate instructors.
  • Academic Life: Blogs discussing various aspects of academic life, including the dissertation process, job search, being a mentor or mentee, tenure review, and the like.

If you’re interested in writing an op-ed for a “traditional” news website, the New York Times has some recommendations.

Queries and submissions should be sent via our contact form. You can learn more about the online editorial team here.

 

Online Publications Team

The online publications team consists of:

Editor, Online Publications

Andrew P. Smiler, Ph.D. is an award-winning author and psychotherapist residing in Winston-Salem, North Carolina, USA. He received his Ph.D. in developmental psychology from the University of New Hampshire and has had previous faculty appointments at SUNY-Oswego and Wake Forest University. Dr. Smiler’s research on issues of gender roles and adolescent sexuality has resulted in extensive publications aimed at researchers, practitioners, policy-makers, and the lay public.

Associate Editors, Online Publications

Elizabeth H. Weybright, Ph.D. is an Assistant Professor in Human Development and Adolescent Extension Specialist at Washington State University. She received her Ph.D. in Recreation, Park, and Tourism Management at Pennsylvania State University. Her research centers on understanding the relationship between adolescent development and leisure, or free time use, from a prevention perspective. Specifically, she identifies how the leisure context promotes healthy development or contributes to engagement in risk behavior to inform intervention approaches.

Albert J. Ksinan received his M.S. in Psychology from Masaryk University in Brno, Czech Republic. He is currently a doctoral candidate at the Department of Family Sciences at University of Kentucky. His research focuses on the development of delinquent behaviors, personality, behavior genetics, and application of new quantitative methods.

Shannon D. Snapp, Ph.D. is an Assistant Professor in Psychology at California State University, Monterey Bay. She received her Ph.D. in Developmental Psychology at Boston College and completed her postdoctoral training at the University of Arizona. She uses interdisciplinary and mixed- methods research to examine practices and policies that support and hinder underrepresented young people’s well-being, with a focus on the experiences of LGBTQ youth, youth of color, and youth whose identities and experiences intersect. She currently teaches “Social Psychology and Social Justice” and a new course she developed called “How to Love” on the art and science of love and intimacy. In addition to her academic work, Shannon is trained in yoga, reiki, and meditation and enjoys bringing these restorative practices into academia and the broader community.

Emerging Scholar Bloggers (2018-2020)

Matthew Hagler is currently studying clinical psychology at the University of Massachusetts Boston with Dr. Jean Rhodes. His research focuses on adult-youth relationships and youth mentoring interventions.

Kendall Johnson is currently studying to obtain her PhD in Social Work at Boston University under the mentorship of Judith Scott (MSW,MPP,PhD). Her research seeks to understand the effects of trauma and community violence, especially homicide, on the Black families’ and communities’ mental health, as well as the supports they utilize in response to traumatic loss and violent events. 

Jenna L. McPherson received her M.A. in Psychology from the University of North Carolina Wilmington in Spring 2017. She is currently working with Dr. Graciela Espinosa-Hernández as she prepares to apply for Ph.D. programs in the fall. Her research interests include romantic relationship initiation.

If you’d like to contribute a blog/article to the website, please read this.

Want to get in touch? Click here.

History & Mission

Established in the winter of 1984, the Society for Research on Adolescence (SRA) is a rapidly growing, dynamic society focused on the theoretical, empirical, and policy research issues of adolescence. Through its biennial meetings and publishing efforts, SRA promotes the dissemination of research on adolescents and serves as a network and forum for its members. SRA publishes the Journal of Research on Adolescence.

Mission:

As a community of researchers, our goals are to advance understanding of adolescence and enhance the wellbeing of youth in a globalized world. We promote high-quality research that considers the biological, psychological, and sociocultural aspects of development in context. We aim to lead and shape scientific and public discourse on youth and adolescence, and to guide parenting, schooling, programs, and policies. In order to achieve these goals we foster the professional development and growth of all members, and are relevant, visible, diverse, and global in perspective.

As a society we share a set of values that informs our research and practice, including:

  1. We value young people – their experiences and perspectives – and see them as critical to a better future.
  2. We value research as a foundation for raising children and for informing educational and community programs, practices and policies that shape the lives of youth.
  3. We value diversity of membership including national, cultural, racial, ethnic, gender, sexuality, socioeconomic, ability, and professional status.
  4. We value diversity in scholarship, including the study of diverse populations; disciplinary perspectives; and methodological approaches.

SRA currently serves over 1,300 members representing 30 countries throughout the world. The Society is governed by its Executive Council according to a constitution and by-laws.

SRA Past Presidents

Governance / Committees

 

Executive Council
Term
Email
Rob Crosnoe, President 2018-2020 crosnoe@austin.utexas.edu
Velma Murry, President Elect 2018-2020 velma.m.murry@vanderbilt.edu
Lisa Crockett, Past President 2018-2020 ecrockett1@unl.edu
Gabriela Stein, Vice President Programming 2018-2022 glstein@uncg.edu
Michael Cunningham 2016-2020 mcunnin1@tulane.edu
Nancy Gonzales 2016-2020 nancy.gonzales@asu.edu
Elizabeth Cauffman 2018-2022 cauffman@uci.edu
Enrique Neblett 2018-2022 eneblett@unc.edu
Linda Juang 2018-2022 juang@uni-potsdam.de
Caitlin Cavanagh, Emerging Scholar Representative 2016-2020 ccavanag@uci.edu
Haylee DeLuca, Emerging Scholar Representative 2018-2022 hdeluca1@kent.edu
SRA Past Presidents
Awards Sub-Committee: Individual Awards
Term
Email
 Mission Statement
Christy Buchanan, Chair
2016-2018
buchanan@wfu.edu
Michael Cunningham, Executive Council Representative 2016-2020 mcunnin1@tulane.edu
Aura Ankita Mishra, Emerging Scholar Representative 2016-2020 mishra30@purdue.edu
Individual Awards Members: Dissertation Awards
Alexander Vazsonyi 2016-2020 vazsonyi@uky.edu
Chun Bun Ian Lam 2016-2020 ianlam@eduhk.hk
Virginia Huynh 2014-2018 virginia.huynh@csun.edu
Luke Hyde 2014-2018 lukehyde@umich.edu
Kerry Keyes 2014-2018 kmk2104@columbia.edu
Debbie Rivas-Drake 2014-2018 drivas@umich.edu
Individual Awards Members: Early Career & John P. Hill Memorial Award
Michael Cunningham (chair & EC rep) 2017-2020 mcunnin1@tulane.edu
Elizabeth Cauffman 2014-2018 cauffman@uci.edu
Monica Johnson 2014-2018 monicakj@wsu.edu
Renee Spencer 2015-2018 rspenc@bu.edu
Shawn Whiteman 2017-2020 shawn.whiteman@usu.edu
Aura Ankita Mishra, Emerging Scholar Representative 2016-2020 mishra30@purdue.edu
Awards Sub-Committee:
Term
Email
Social Policy Committee
MissionStatement
Rachel Gordon, Co-chair 2014-2018 ragordon@uic.edu
Rebekah Levine Coley, Co-chair 2014-2018 coleyre@bc.edu
Matthew Diemer 2014-2018 diemerm@msu.edu
Connie Flanagan 2015-2018 caflanagan@wisc.edu
Sarah Lynne-Landsman 2014-2018 sarah.landsman@ufl.edu
Mike McKenzie 2014-2018 mm3038@columbia.edu
Patrick Tolan, Executive Council Representative 2014-2018 pht6t@virginia.edu
Vivian Tseng 2014-2018 vtseng@wtgrantfdn.org
Emily Waterman, Emerging Scholar Representative 2016-2020 eaw237@psu.edu
Mid-Career Award in Research Excellence
Catherine Bradshaw, Chair 2015-2016 cpb8g@virginia.edu
Bo Cleveland 2016-2016 hhc10@psu.edu
Lene Arnett Jensen 2015-2016 LJensen@ClarkU.edu
Tama Leventhal 2015-2016 Tama.Leventhal@tufts.edu
Guilherme Wendt, Emerging Scholar Representative 2015-2016 guilhermewwendt@gmail.com
Noel Card 2017-2020 noel.card@uconn.edu
Outstanding Mentor Award
Clea McNeely, Chair & Executive Council Representative 2015-2018 cmcneely@utk.edu
Cleo Caldwell 2015-2018 cleoc@umich.edu
Bonnie Leadbeater 2015-2018 bleadbea@uvic.ca
Janis Whitlock 2015-2018 jlw43@cornell.edu
Luke Rapa 2017-2020 lrapa@clemson.edu
Organizational Award
Rich Lerner 2017-2020 richard.lerner@tufts.edu
Christine Grove 2017-2020 Christine.Grove@monash.edu
Alaina Brennick 2017-2020 alaina.brenick@uconn.edu
Andrew Fuligni 2017-2020 afuligni@ucla.edu
Emerging Scholars Committee (ESC)
Term
Email
Mission Statement
Caitlin Cavanagh, Co-Chair 2016-2020 ccavanag@uci.edu
Haylee DeLuca, Co-Chair 2018-2022 hdeluca1@kent.edu
Chenoa Allen, Consensus 2016-2020 chenoa.allen@gmail.com
Diamond Bravo, Membership 2016-2020 dybravo@asu.edu
Heather Hessel, Finance 2018-2022 hhessel@umn.edu
Meghan Martz, Publications 2016-2020 meghan.e.martz@gmail.com
Myles Maxey, Interdisciplinary 2018-2022 mylescmaxey@gmail.com
Aura Ankita Mishra, Individual Awards 2016-2020 mishra30@purdue.edu
Vincent Munywoki, International 2018-2022 munywoki.vincent@yahoo.com
Lilla Pivnick, Media 2018-2022 lilla.pivnick@gmail.com
Amanda Pollit, Diversity 2016-2020 apollitt@email.arizona.edu
Emily Rolan, Publications 2016-2020 rolan@perdue.edu
Emily Waterman, Social Policy 2016-2020 eaw237@psu.edu
Finance Committee
Term
Email
Mission Statement
Shannon Cavanagh, Co-chair 2014-2018 scavanagh@austin.utexas.edu
Justin Jager, Co-Chair 2014-2018 Justin.Jager@asu.edu
Aprile Benner 2016-2020 abenner@prc.utexas.edu
Stephen Russell 2016-2020 stephen.russell@austin.utexas.edu
Rick Burdick, Ex Officio 2005- rburd@srcd.org
Rob Crosnoe, Ex Officio 2014-2018 crosnoe@austin.utexas.edu
Lisa Crockett, Ex Officio 2014-2018 ecrockett1@unl.edu
Ryan Watson, Emerging Scholars Representative 2014-2018 ryanucla09@gmail.com
Interdisciplinary Committee
Lorah Dorn, Co-chair 2014-2018 dun@psu.edu
Andrew Fuligni, Co-chair 2014-2018 afuligni@ucla.edu
Sarah Beal 2014-2018 sarah.beal@cchmc.org
Cleo Caldwell 2014-2018 cleoc@umich.edu
Pamela Davis-Kean 2014-2018 pdakean@umich.edu
Jennifer Doty, Emerging Scholar Representative 2014-2018 doty.jen@gmail.com
Adriana Galvan 2014-2018 agalvan@ucla.edu
Lynn Karoly 2016-2018 Lynn_Karoly@rand.org
Todd Little 2014-2018 yhat@ttu.edu
Wendy Manning 2014-2018 wmannin@bgsu.edu
Laurie Meschke 2014-2018 lmeschke@utk.edu
Nancy Darling, Executive Council Representative 2016-2018 ndarling@oberlin.edu
International Committee
Mission Statement
Melanie Zimmer-Gembeck, Chair 2014-2018 m.zimmer-gembeck@griffith.edu.au
Laura Taylor, Co-chair 2016-2020 L.Taylor@qub.ac.uk 
Gus Carlo 2016-2020 carlog@missouri.edu
Xinyin Chen 2014-2018 xinyin@gse.upenn.edu
Silvia Koller, Executive Council Representative 2014-2018 silviahkoller@gmail.com
Baerbel Kracke 2014-2018 baerbel.kracke@uni-jena.de
Jennifer Maggs 2014-2018 jmaggs@psu.edu
Julie Maslowsky 2014-2018 maslowsky@wisc.edu
Ritu Singh 2014-2018 ritu.singh07@gmail.com
Caroline Spellings 2014-2018 cspellings@gmail.com
Royette Tavernier 2016-2020 rtavernier@wesleyan.edu
Guilherme Wendt, Emerging Scholar Representative 2014-2018 guillermewendt@gmail.com
International Fellows Program
Term
Email
Loreto Martinez Guzman, Chair 2014-2018 mlmartig@uc.cl
Silvia Koller, Executive Council Representative 2014-2018 silvia.koller@pq.cnpq.br
Raija-Leena Punamaki 2018-2020 Raija-Leena.Punamaki@staff.uta.fi
Bonnie Barber 2018-2020 b.barber@griffith.edu.au
International Young Scholars Program
Term
Email
Laura Pittman, Co-chair 2014-2018 lpittman@niu.edu 
Brenda Lohman, Co-Chair 2016-2020 blohman@iastate.edu
Media & Communications
Term
Email
Mission Statement
Deinera Exner-Cortens, Chair 2012-2018 deinera.exner@gmail.com
Jeff Cookston, Co-chair 2016-2020 cookston@sfsu.edu
Veronica Fruiht 2016-2020 vfruiht@gmail.com 
Mollie McQuillan, Media & Communications 2014-2018 molliem@u.northwestern.edu
Patrick Tolan, Executive Council Representative 2016-2018 pht6t@virginia.edu
Amanda Lenhart 2016-2018 info@amandalenhart.com
Elizabeth Weybright 2016-2020 elizabeth.weybright@wsu.edu
Jodi Dworkin, Ex-Officio 2012-2016

jdworkin@umn.edu

Amy Glaspie, Ex-Officio 2012- aglaspie@s-r-a.org
Membership
Term
Email
Mission Statement
Linda Juang, Chair 2014-2018 juang@uni-potsdam.de
Kim Updegraff, Co-chair 2016-2020 Kimberly.Updegraff@asu.edu
Lixian Cui 2016-2020 lc145@nyu.edu
Gizem Erdem 2014-2018 gerdem@uic.edu
Linda Halgunseth 216-2020 linda.halgunseth@uconn.edu
Vera Lopez 2014-2018 vera.lopez@asu.edu
Teru Toyokawa 2014-2018 toyokata@plu.edu
Julie Wargo Aiken 2014-2018 jaikins@med.wayne.edu
Deborah Welsh 2014-2018 dwelsh@utk.edu
Diamond Bravo, Emerging Scholar Representative 2016-2020 dybravo@asu.edu
Nominations
Term
Email
Mission Statement | Process  
John Schulenberg, Chair 2016-2018 schulenb@umich.edu
Program
Term
Email
Mission Statement
Jasna Jovanovic, 2018 Co-Chair 2014-2018 jjovanov@calpoly.edu
Mitch Prinstein, 2018 Co-Chair 2014-2018 mitch.prinstein@unc.edu
Rachel Gordon 2016-2020 ragordon@uic.edu
Paige Hardin 2016-2020 harden@psy.utexas.edu
Caitlin Cavanagh, Emerging Scholar Representative 2016-2020 cait.cavanagh@gmail.com
Jessie Rudi, Emerging Scholar Representative 2014-2018 jhc5007@gmail.com
Rob Crosnoe, Ex Officio 2016-2020 crosnoe@austin.utexas.edu
Lisa Crockett, Ex Officio 2014-2018 ecrockett1@unl.edu
Anne Perdue, Ex Officio 2012- aperdue@s-r-a.org
Publications
Term
Email
Mission Statement
Brad Brown, Chair 2015-2018 bbbrown@wisc.edu
Laura Wray-Lake 2012-2018 wraylake@ucla.edu
Jerel Calzo 2014-2018 jerel.calzo@childrens.harvard.edu
Brian Carolan 2014-2018 carolanb@mail.montclair.edu
Meghan Martz, Emerging Scholar Representative 2016-2020 meghan.e.martz@gmail.com
Nancy Gonzales, Executive Council Representative
2016-2020
Katie Roche 2014-2018 kroche@gwu.edu
Nicole Campione-Barr
2016-2020
Innovative Small Grants
Term
Email
Mission Statement  
Silvia Koller, Co-chair, Executive Council Representative 2014-2018 silviahkoller@gmail.com
Vivien Huan 2014-2018 vivien.huan@nie.edu.sg
Beth McDaniel, Emerging Scholars Representative 2014-2018 coopes1@auburn.edu
Susan Sy 2014-2018 susansy@exchange.fullerton.edu
Undergraduate Scholars Program
Term
Email
Jeff Cookston, Co-Chair
2010-2014
Rosalie Corona, Co-Chair 2014-2018 racorona@vcu.edu
 
Consensus Committee
MIssion Statement
Eva Lefkowitz, Chair 2016-2018 eva.lefkowitz@uconn.edu
Laura Ferrer-Wreder, Co-chair 2014-2020 lferrerwreder@yahoo.com
Michael Cunningham, Executive Council Representative 2016-2020 mcunnin1@tulane.edu
Dorothy Espelage 2016-2020 espelage@illinois.edu
Reed Larson 2012-2018 larsonr@illinois.edu
Chenoa Allen, Emerging Scholar Representative 2012-2016 chenoa.allen@gmail.com
Robin Stevens 2016-2020 robin2@nursing.upenn.edu
Laura Wray-Lake 2016-2020 wraylake@ucla.edu
Diversity & Equity Committee
Mission Statement
Gabriela Chavira, Chair 2012-2018 gchavira@csun.edu
Russell Toomey, Co-chair 2014-2018 toomey@email.arizona.edu
Eleanor Seaton 2012-2018 eleanor.seaton@asu.edu
Margarita Azmitia 2014-2018 azmitia@ucsc.edu
Nancy Gonzales, Executive Council Representative 2016-2020 nancy.gonzales@asu.edu
Velma Murry, Executive Council Representative 2014-2018 velma.m.murry@vanderbilt.edu
Amanda Pollitt, Emerging Scholar Representative 2016-2020 apollitt@email.arizona.edu
Fatima Varner 2014-2018 fvarner@fordham.edu
Terri Williams 2014-2018 tewillia@jhsph.edu
Frontiers – Ad hoc Committee
John Schulenberg, Chair
Font Resize
Contrast